Open Close


Catherine Evelyn Jimerson and Markise Dubois Jackson, were named the recipients of the Superintendent’s Leadership Award during Waukegan High School’s Commencement exercises Saturday, May 28.  The annual recognition, bestowed upon a male and female student from the senior class, was announced by Waukegan Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Donaldo R. Batiste.
“This award goes to the students whom the Superintendent believes best exemplify the character traits that will lead to ultimate success. In today’s fast-paced world, where everyone seems comfortable doing his or her own thing, it is reassuring to know that we are still breeding and cultivating character traits in our students that are still as meaningful and needed today, as they were in yesteryears. These students exhibit the ability to listen, follow and lead, all at the same time,” said Dr. Batiste.

Brookside’s Senior Class President Markise Jackson was also a member of the Student Council.  Markise was instrumental in organizing the end-of-the year Senior Assembly. He worked as a student ambassador for the guidance office, and was one of the leaders of the high school’s student-led Peer Mediation group.  Outside of school, he is very active in his church’s choir.  Markise plans to attend the College of Lake County in the fall, and hopes to become an educator.

Catherine Jimerson played the cello for the school orchestra, belonged to the girls’ swim team, and was an active staff member of The Thirsty Elephant, Waukegan High School’s award-winning literary magazine. Catherine studied Mandarin during her junior year abroad in Taiwan.  She also is involved with the Waukegan Rotary Club and the Waukegan Park District’s Jack Benny Center for the Arts. She will attend the University of Illinois in the fall, where she plans to major in International Business.

The Superintendent’s Leadership Award was established by Dr. Batiste in 2008. In addition to receiving a trophy at graduation, the students are also awarded a $250 scholarship from the Board of Education. Past winners include: Eric Flores and Lindsay Payne in 2008, Colin Nickerson and Christina Colver in 2009, and Binesh Desai and Carol Meuth in 2010.

Comments are closed.